(Repost from Fiverr) So You Want to Hire a Writer - Should You ask for Samples?

So, I was lurking on the Fiverr forum and found this post.

This is really well written and I like the content, so I thought I’d repost it here for those of you who may have missed it or :eyes: that may not be familiar with the other site.

You can find the original post here (So You Want to Hire a Writer - Should You ask for Samples? )

Let me guess. You have arrived here because you are looking to hire a writer on Fiverr, but some of the people you have been messaging won’t let you see examples of their work. Why is that? Are they ignorant? Untalented? Best to be avoided?

As a freelance writer, I get a lot of people asking to see samples of my work. Whether it is on Fiverr or elsewhere, everyone wants to try before they buy. As it stands, though, I politely refuse every request. When people ask why, I then end up repeating the same information over and over. In this case, I’ve decided to summarise all of my reasons here.

This post may also help some people start shopping a little smarter on Fiverr. I say this as many people whom I refuse to give samples, return days or weeks later to order anyway.

Why this happens is simple. Potential clients go on to message other sellers who do provide writing samples. However, after placing paid orders, some then find that sellers aren’t capable of delivering the kind of quality they expect. (Despite having been rigorously vetted beforehand.)

In short, reading this post in full could help you save precious time and money. :wink:

The Best Writers on Fiverr Do Not Provide Samples - Here’s Why