How do You Price?

I’m new to this forum. It was recommended to me by a fellow Freelancer. I like it because of the anonymity.

I’m a writer on two of the major freelancing platforms -UW and 5er-, but I also Write outside of the platforms.

I’m really curious how other writers price their services.

On the platforms, it seems like you either price by the hour, word count or total project. I’ve seen so many different conflicting scales on how much to charge based on years of experience. It’s confusing.

I also notice on the platforms, especially UW, a lot of buyers want a lot for nothing. It makes it hard to bid. That is another topic, however.

My pricing off the platforms is much much higher. Of course, finding work off those platforms is much much harder.

So for those of you here that are writers, or have knowledge of the niche, how do you price on a platform versus off the platform?

What do you use to calculate your prices?

I am purposely leaving out my years of experience, what my level is on the different platforms and any personal information to my outside pricing. I really want to see what others have to say without knowing that info.

2 Likes

Because I hire editors & proofreaders, I’m used to paying by the word on the other platforms. It took some time for me to get used to the way 5r did things. I still calculate by the word.

Unlike 5r, all the other sites I use are exclusively for writers and they have 100% anonymity. They don’t know my username, pseudonym and I feel like I can leave a honest and unbiased review. Sites like Scribendi, Firstediting, heritage, etc.

I mainly hire 5r writer for my articles, but I have to admit its “touch and go.” Some give me great work, some good, some plagiarized (this would cause great problems for me). Just because I pay more doesn’t mean I get better quality.